The Lipstick Diaries #1 | Velvet Slipper

Hi Everyone!

It is four weeks until Christmas and the excitement is really kicking in. I always feel that the Toy Show is the start of the festive season buzz, and as Ryan and little people will be entertaining us this Friday night I’m really in decoration mode. The five-year-old is very excited about buying a Christmas tree and mentions it every time we pass the garden centre on the way home from school. So, on high priority for this weekend is the tree!

Now on to the title of this post ‘The Lipstick Diaries’. I’m a massive fan of lipsticks, particularly bold ones. With all other aspects of my make-up it generally stays the same, I use the same palettes, have a couple of foundations I like and my go to concealer, but with lipstick I can have multiple love affairs throughout any given month or season.

So, as a way of testing the best and finding my favourites I thought I would buy a new lipstick or liquid lipstick every fortnight and try it out. I am also going to purchase from a different brand every fortnight so I can compare quality, formula and longevity. If you know me in the ‘real world’, you will know I’m a massive fan of a bold red lip – especially on nights out. Well nothing has changed, but I am going to push through my comfort zone (always a good thing to do) and try out some nude colours.

Saying all that the colour that features as #1 in ‘The Lipstick Diaries’ is a deep plum called Velvet Slipper by Sleek Cosmetics. Now to be fair I think the name alone sold it to me, I swatch’d it on my hand, and spent twenty-four hours staring at it before walking straight back into the pharmacy and buying it. Purple, after all, is my favourite colour.

n10-10

As with all bold liquid lipsticks a lip liner is needed otherwise you will lose your tiny mind trying to straighten it up with those applicators. Save yourself some brain cells and draw out the lining of your lips first and fill them in.

img_20161127_165554

 

This didn’t go on as I expected – maybe it is my skin tone but it looked much darker than in the tube and more brown than purple, which didn’t delight me to be honest. I wanted that vibrant matte plum (which I’m still on the hunt for).

The main issue I had with this liquid lipstick is its longevity, the idea of matte lips being that the colour lasts all day wasn’t present with this particular product. After I ate dinner and had a cup of tea, within four hours the colour had started to fade dramatically from my lips as can be seen below.

dsc_0778
Pause for Dramatic Effect

I really wanted to love this. The colour in the tube is just so perfect and would be a favourite of mine if it had worn that way and lasted. The hunt for the perfect plum goes on (not that it’ll be a particularly arduous task).

It scores a 2.5/5

 

If there are any colours you would like to see me try please leave a comment or email me at accordingtoger@hotmail.com.

Find me on Instagram and all other social media at @accordingtoger

Thanks for reading.

Speak Soon,

g x

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

